Bob Graham Award

The Bob Graham Award is our industry’s highest honor for excellence in sales and marketing. The award was established by SEMI in remembrance of our industry’s greatest marketing professional, Bob Graham, after he passed away in 1998. He believed that the sole purpose of sales and marketing was to serve the customer by keeping product offerings and development focused on customer need. The award is presented annually to recognize individuals for their outstanding achievement in the establishment of marketing and sales programs that created lasting value for customers of the semiconductor equipment and materials industry. This section of VLSI Research’s web site honors these individuals with an archive that chronicles their achievements and documents the lessons they learned for all posterity.

To view these video clips, you need Windows Media Player 9.0 or above, please click here to download.
NOTE: Play duration may vary depending on the available bandwidth.

Bob Graham

  The Bob GrahamAward
  The Chip Insider®’s Obituary for Bob Graham
Bob Graham Award Winners


(Click on the links below to view interviews of the winners describing what the award means to them and what lessons they can impart to other professionals as well as other historical documents about them.)

2000: Art Zafiropoulo was honored for championing technology through innovative marketing approaches: first with plasma etching and later with “mix and match” lithographic manufacturing strategies. 19m24s
2001: Jim Healy was honored for the establishment of industry specific selling processes in test. Jim wrote the first book ever published on selling semiconductor equipment. 28m15s
2001: Barry Rapozo was honored for the establishment of selling processes in wafer fab. He identified and met our industry specific customer needs and brought these selling processes into theindustry. 19m25s
2002: Jerry Hutcheson was honored for pioneering and developing relational databases on the equipment industry that could be consistently maintained and provide a valid history for better decision making. 19m06s
2002: JEd Segal was honored for his establishment of a global representative organization that made it possible for small companies to serve customers effectively on an international basis. 15m24s
 2003: Steve Nakayama was honored for his contribution in helping globalize the semiconductor
 equipment industry.  His efforts significantly reduced trade friction between Japan and the United States.
  2004: Ed Braun was honored for the establishment of positioning programs that led to the spin-out of a separate equipment industry for serving the nanotechnology industry.  
  2005: Archie Hwang was honored for developing Taiwan by building a service infrastructure and culture for semiconductor sales.  
2006: Aubry C. (Bill) Tobey was honored for conceptualizing the wafer stepper in the late 1970s, a great feat of product marketing.